Courteeners announce seventh album ‘Pink Cactus Café’ with “feel good” new single ‘Solitude Of The Night Bus’

Courteeners have announced their seventh album ‘Pink Cactus Café’ and have shared their new “feel good” single ‘Solitude Of The Night Bus’.

READ MORE: Courteeners’ Liam Fray on ‘St. Jude’ hitting Number One: “We feel pretty blessed”

‘Pink Cactus Café’ marks the band’s seventh studio effort and is set for release on October 25 via Ignition. As the album’s first offering, Liam Fray and co have shared it’s lead single ‘Solitude Of The Night Bus’, an upbeat track that sees the band return to their indie origins.

Speaking about the song in a press release, Fray shared: “This came at a time of real questioning. Things weren’t going particularly well. No confidence. No direction. I think that’s why – whisper it – it’s on the fun side. This is the new us. I’d previously worked with Ola [Modupe-Ojo] on ‘Hanging Off Your Cloud’ and, like then, there was just a magic in the room that was irresistible.


“It’s a summer breeze. But it’s a winter’s night. Either way, sometimes you have to block out the noise. My late Uncle Pat loved a whistle so it’s a bit of a homage to him. Get on the bus; headphones in; go your own way. It’s the feel good, imposter syndrome hit of the summer.”

Directed by Dom Foster (The Coral, Paul Heaton), the song’s accompanying video sees Fray on a nocturnal journey aboard a late-night No. 17 bus, where the vibrant artwork from ‘Pink Cactus Café’ comes to life around him throughout the ride.

According to a press release, ‘Pink Cactus Café’ sees Fray co-producing all tracks and features contributions from the likes of  DMA’S, Brooke Combe, James and Ian Skelly (The Coral), Pixey, Charlie Salt (Blossoms), Ola Modupe-Ojo (Bipolar Sunshine) and Theo Hutchcraft (Hurts) amongst many more.

You can pre-order and pre-save the album here. It will be available in various formats such as CD, LP, and cassette. Signed albums and heavyweight vinyl, including limited edition coloured formats, will also be offered, with all vinyl versions featuring an exclusive bonus track. Digital formats will include Dolby Atmos.

Courteeners ‘Pink Cactus Café album artwork. Credit: Dom Foster

Courteeners ‘Pink Cactus Café’ track list is: 

‘Sweet Surrender’ (featuring Brooke Combe)
‘Weekend Shy Of A Feeling’
‘Pink Cactus Cafe’
‘Where Are We Now?’
‘The Beginning Of The End’ (featuring DMA’S)
‘Solitude of the Night Bus’
‘First Name Terms’ (featuring Pixey)
‘Lu Lu’
‘Love You Any Less’
‘Bitten By Unseen Teeth’

Speaking about the album, Fray said: “The last record came out on the cusp of lockdown so straight away I went into panic (writing) mode…on my own but with no real plan. I wasn’t sure if it was going to be a side project, Courteeners, solo project. Just songs. Everything was up in the air. So, it wasn’t necessarily a Courteeners SOUND…I started reaching out on my Indie Rolodex as a bit of fun really, and it’s ended up being the most collaborative and rewarding thing we’ve ever done. It’s a real collage of an album, we threw everything into the melting pot.

'Pink Cactus Café' – new album out 25.10.24 including new single ‘Solitude Of The Night Bus’. Pre-order the album from the official store for exclusive tour pre-sale access. UK tour announced this Friday with a Manchester venue the band have never played!

— Courteeners (@thecourteeners) July 9, 2024

“Cam & Cones have brought their magic to these songs, along with… to name a few…. DMA’S, Charlie from Blossoms, Theo from Hurts, James Skelly and his percussion genius of a brother – lan, and two of the best vocalists out there in Brooke Combe and Pixey. It’s the most collaborative thing we’ve ever done, and we couldn’t be happier. Four and half years in the making, we genuinely believe it’s the best set of songs we’ve released into the world since St. Jude… we hope you buzz off them as much as we do.”

‘Pink Cactus Café’ follows the band’s 2020 release ‘More. Again. Forever.’ In a four-star review of the LP, NME shared: “‘More. Again. Forever’ strikes a mature balance. It’s escapist in its sound but humane in its approach to the world. It’s experimental but familiar, and tests what the band are capable of while proving to be their most focussed work to date.”

Elsewhere, the band took to social media to reveal that they will be announcing a UK tour this Friday (July 12) with a Manchester venue the band have yet to play at. Fans can access a special ticket pre-sale by pre-ordering the album.

In other news, Courteeners are scheduled to appear at Boardmasters and Victorious Festival in August and were named Band Of The Year at the inaugural Northern Music Awards back in April.

The post Courteeners announce seventh album ‘Pink Cactus Café’ with “feel good” new single ‘Solitude Of The Night Bus’ appeared first on NME.

 Read More

Contact Us